The Barn, or the building where the Barn presently resides at 9527 Harford Road, was first built in the mid 1850’s. The original name of the building was “Walter’s Carney Hotel”. It was used as a rest stop for farmers on their way to the Broadway Market in East Baltimore. In the early 1900’s it was renamed as “Groller’s Grocery Store”. It was also known as the “8 Mile House” as it was 8 miles from the Market. In the 1930’s and 1940’s the building was a dance hall and saloon known as “Brownies”. Brownie’s became the “Bottle and Cap” and remained until it was purchased in 1979 and renamed “The Barn”. The Barn opened its doors March 3, 1980 and the Crab House was opened on June 15, 1982. It quickly became a Baltimore institution known by almost everyone in Baltimore born in the 1950’s, 1960’s and 1970’s. Early in 2013 it was completely remodeled from top to bottom, including 2 separate open outside decks with T.V.’s, one for non-smoking and the other for smoking.

On September 23, 2013, three gentlemen took over ownership of The Barn. The 3 Tonys have a combined experience of over 100 years of being business owners involving Food/Restaurant/Bar and Retail services. They were all born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland. Two out of the 3 were veterans and have served their Country.

“The Charred Rib at the Barn” offers Steamed Crabs daily and a menu that any restaurant would be proud of. Our signature dinners are our famous imported Baby Back ribs, Crab Cakes and Shrimp Salad sandwiches, formerly from the Charred Rib Restaurant in Timonium, Maryland for over 30 years. We now offer overstuffed Deli sandwiches with first cut meats, including Roast Beef, Ham and Turkey. There are many other items on our menu and most are homemade, including all of our soups, but most importantly, our Maryland Crab soup.